No matter what, this is my beloved daughter

Few years ago, my daughter was diagnosed to have schizophrenia. I still remember it was during the examination period while the weather wasn’t too cold. Her classmates went to school as usual. My daughter who seldom took any sick leave said she didn’t want to go to school, and she felt chilly. I decided to keep her company to school, and explain the situation to teachers. After assessments and discussion, the social workers and the teachers judged that my daughter should stop sitting examinations immediately.

Before that day, the child looked a bit unwell. She once told me that it was deeply distressing for her to sit in front everyone during a school gathering. She felt suffocated. Another time, she got caught chatting with a classmate during a morning assembly. She was asked to stand alone in front of everyone as punishment. Piercing gaze from all classmates brought severe discomfort to her.

One day, a social worker told me that my child was under intense pressure which posed some mental problems to her. It was unbelievable. She looked perfectly normal until I had a meal with her in a restaurant. She could not concentrate on her meal, but was looking around. All of a sudden, she claimed that passers-by were staring at her intently. I started to realize that there was something wrong, and the social worker might be right. I felt anxious and my mind went blank.

During my child’s course of illness, I took care of her in my best endeavours. At her onset, she appeared fearful, and her whole body shivered. Despite keeping her company, I couldn’t do anything but held her tight. I believed showing tender love and embracing her could soothe her.

I tried to change her introverted personality by encouraging her to contact with more people and make more friends. Meanwhile, I received help from social workers and teachers, and communicated with them. Whenever my child felt unwell, social workers always contacted me immediately so that I could coordinate with them. Slowly, my child established many friendships at school.

For me, there were ups and downs; there were moments when I felt pressurized, helpless and perturbed. Fortunately, I had friends to talk over with. My family members also offered substantial help, and nurse my child together. To me, their involvement is instrumental. I had my work to do. How could I possibly take care of my child without their help?

My child took medicines regularly, and her condition gradually stabilised. I felt relieved and willing to tell my relatives about our situation. I don’t care how others view us. No matter what, this is my beloved daughter.

反正這就是我愛的女兒

數年前,我的女兒患上了思覺失調。還記得那天,正夕學校考試的季節,街外的天氣不算很冷,女兒學校的孩子們如常回學校考試。一向很少請假的女兒突然告訴我她不想上學,說自己感到很冷,我決定陪伴陪她回學校,跟老師解釋清楚情況。結果,社工和老師評估及商量後,竟然認為有需要立刻停止我女兒的考試。

回想在那天以前,孩子很像有點不妥。她曾經告訴我,有一次她在學校聚會時,要坐在眾人面前,使她感到非常不適,透不過氣來。又有另一次,她跟別的同學二人在早會時傾訴,老師發現後只叫她一人站在眾人面前罰企,面向著同學使他感到非常不舒服。

有一天,社工告訴我孩子好像壓力頗大,精神出現一些問題。我真的感到難以置信,那時的我認為孩子並沒有什麼不同之處。直到有一次我在餐廳跟女兒吃飯,發現她不能集中地享用午餐,甚至不停地四處張望。然後,她突然告訴我四周的人在看著她,我才意識到好像有點不妥,並開始相信學校社工的話。那時我真的十分擔心,不知怎樣做。

在孩子患病以後,我盡我所能地照顧她。每一次她病發時,她也表現得非常恐懼,全身也在顫抖。而我在她的身邊,每次也只能緊緊地抱著她。這樣全心地愛著她、抱著她,總會使孩子舒服一點,使她慢慢地平靜下來。

我逐步鼓勵一向內向的她多點與人接觸,結交朋友。同時,我努力尋找學校社工和老師的幫忙,與她們充足的溝通帶來很大的幫助,每次孩子不妥時,學校社工總會第一時間與我聯絡,使我能配合。慢慢地,孩子在學校裏多了一些好朋友。

至於我自己,在過程中經歷著起起跌跌,曾感到很大壓力、無助和擔憂。幸好,我能與我的朋友分憂。而且我家中各人也給予很大的支持,幫忙一同照顧孩子。對我來說,每一個家人的參與也相當重要。我也要工作,怎可能沒有他們幫忙照顧孩子?

慢慢地,孩子定時服藥,逐漸穏定下來,我自己也安心了很多。我也很願意告訴親友們我們的情況,我不介意別人怎樣看我們,反正這就是我愛的女兒。